Class of 2015


This past Friday night May 29 at 7:30 PM, at the Nelson Hagnauer Memorial Athletic Complex, we celebrated a grand event, the 2015 Granite City Senior High School Graduation. We had a wonderful 72 degree evening with a light southern breeze that created a truly enchanted atmosphere. The Principal At Granite City Senior High School Mr. Daren Depew, was the Master of Ceremonies as the graduating class of 347 students proceeded into the stadium. The Granite City High School Band led by Director Mr. Wyatt Roberds played classic Processional music with zest and robust sound.




Student Body President Zack Nunn led the crowd with the opening Pledge of Allegiance, followed by Senior talent Lacy Cook singing the National Anthem. The six Summa Cum Laude students all ranking number one in the class with a 5.6 Grade Point Average gave wonderful speeches, sharing words of wisdom with their class and the audience. Those students are Lauren Davis, Trenton Hawkins, Richard Kelly, Marcella Miller, Leann Smith, and Alina Viteri. Senior talent Athena Comer sang America The Beautiful.




Students Natasha Boyer, Meranda Villier, and Ashley Haynes were recognized for enlisting in the Armed Services. Student Kari Laub also earned the distinction of graduating from High School and Southwestern Illinois College with her Associates Degree participating in the Running Start Program. This unique program gives students the opportunity to earn their high school diploma and complete two years of College with an Associate’s Degree. This program shows the outstanding Educational opportunities our students have in our School District.




President of the School Board Mrs. Beverley Scroggins, Principal Mr. Daren Depew, and Superintendent of Schools Mr. Jim Greenwald, gave brief speeches of congratulations and encouragement before the presentation of the diplomas.




The diplomas were distributed personally by the entire Board Of Education. Participating in the distribution of diplomas to the graduates were Board President Mrs. Beverley Scroggins, Vice President Mrs. Meghan Daily, Treasurer Mrs. Carolyn Yates, Secretary Ms. Kathy Hagnauer, Board member Mr. Matt Jones, Board member Mr. Jerry McKechan, and Board member Dr. Bill McMasters.




It was a great civic event and a true tribute to our students for twelve years of hard work.        


Posted Date:6/1/2015